Custom Application

Can we create a custom application/gui using CMB like we can in ParaView?

Yes you can. In fact the CMB ModelBuilder application itself is mainly a custom branded ParaView application with a set of plugins.

Both ModelBuilder and the underlying toolkit (SMTK) are under a BSD open source license so they can be used in both open and close source projects.

Is there any documentation or github repo for such examples. I am new to it and want to build a simple gui that leverages certain features from CMB and Paraview

SMTK provides ParaView plugins that each expose different functionality within ParaView (extra dock panels, menus, behaviors for loading files, etc.). By choosing which plugins you package with your application, you can choose which functionality your application includes. See here for a description of SMTK’s ParaView plugin architecture.

The cmb-superbuild repo is how we build applications, and it is this repository that controls which plugins are distributed with a given application. An example is the cmb-2d application. It includes all of the plugins SMTK provides except for the two listed here.

1 Like

In addition to standard ParaView plugins, the most common way people customize the application (called “modelbuilder”) is by developing a CMB plugin with additional functionality specific to the solver(s) of interest. What simulation codes are you are working with?

There are a number of working examples in the CMB Plugins repository, including the cmb-2d example David pointed to. You can get a general look at how modelbuilder works with that particular plugin at https://cmb2d.readthedocs.io.

Thanks for your interest in CMB.

1 Like

I have my own simulation of Mechanical Bodies written in C++, all I want is to create a GUI which takes in file from the user, apply boundary conditions to it, select regions and apply forces to the body, do meshing and then pass this body to my simulation.