Pulse Physiology Engine vs. BioGears

Hi,

I am new to the physics-based human physiology engines and am trying to understand the differences between Pulse Physiology Engine and BioGears? It appears as though Pulse is a forked version of BioGears? Are there other key differences between the softwares?

Also, is Pulse still in development and adding new features? I would like to know if it is still a supported to determine if it is a good fit for integrating with another model.

Thanks!

Hi rhingo

Pulse was forked in 2017 off of BioGears 6.1
Rachel, Jeff, and I were all the original physiology, integration, and software leads for BioGears.
You can read about that at the bottom of our FAQ

Pulse is in active development, we will release our 4.2 version in the coming weeks
If you need a release candidate build, I can help you out

Check out all the major improvements for our upcoming release as well as other releases since our fork here
https://gitlab.kitware.com/physiology/engine/-/blob/feature/documentation/docs/Markdown/Versioning.md

To make an informed decision, it would be good to know what kind of model you would like to integrate and how to help isoloate and evaluate the systems you would need for that model.

Happy to help answer any questions you have.

Thank you for the quick response! That is very helpful to know.