CMB 3D modeling

Hi. I´ve been working with the CMB2d example (ModelBuilder-2D — ModelBuilder-2D 1.0.0 documentation), and it seems to work very well. My question is: can I create a custom application (or, more specifically, how would I go about this) in order to extend this to work with 3D models? I assume I would have to connect with a different mesher (possibly Gmsh) and a different solver (possibly CalculiX), but currently I have no idea/experience on how to do this. Is there any example where I can base my work off?

Finally, would there be any difference with working on Linux? I have been working with WSL but I was thinking of dual booting my computer in order to work on Ubuntu, but I don´t have a lot of experience with that OS.

Best regards,
Tomas

1 Like

Glad to know you’ve been able to run the example on WSL.

To your question about creating a custom application, yes, it is possible to create your own custom application using the CMB platform. However it is not a trivial undertaking. To begin, you would need to build CMB and its dependencies from source code. We have a superbuild for that and I will paste a general outline for building modelbuilder in a subsequent post. Then once you have built modelbuilder, you can code & build plugins to support the meshers and solvers you want.

Because the process is very technical, Kitware generally provides contract services to implement new functionality like this, at least in minimal form. Nonetheless, all of the source code have an open/permissive license so that no one is prevented from doing it themselves.

As for WSL vs Linux:

• I don’t know if a standalone Ubuntu system will offer much benefit over WSL. I am no expert, but I would expect anything that runs on Ubuntu will run on WSL.
  • I will also note that Kitware no longer uses dual-boot because of restrictions/roadblocks that are inherent to BIOS or maybe Windows itself.